Sigma Iota Omega Chapter 

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®​​

 Charter Members

Ruby Lennon 1990-1991                            E. Brenda Hill 1992-1993

Anita E. Powell-McDowell 1994-1995           Wendy Thompson 1996
Ruby Lennon 1997-1998                            Angela Jones 1999-2000
Anita E. Powell-McDowell 2001-2003           Wanda K. Taylor 2004
Ethel Pearl Ford 2005-2007                        Brenda Nesmith-Poinsette 2008-2009
Cassandra Gaddy 2010                              Frances M. Cummings 2011-2012
Gwendolyn O. Roberts 2013-2016              Pauline H. Campbell 2017 -2020

Catherine Baker, Frances M. Cummings, Pamela Davis, Kembera Dunston, Valerie Fairley, Cassandra Gaddy, Cynthia Jones Greene, Annette Harper, E. Brenda Hill, Deborah Jamison, Loretta Jones, Ruby P. Lennon, Carolyn Moore, Anita E. Powell, Lizzie Purdie, Gloria Rogers and Virginia Twitty. Ruby Lennon was the Chartering President. 

History of Sigma Iota Omega

 Past Presidents

On December 1986, Dr. Marye Jeffries, 11th Mid -Atlantic Regional Director, observed that there were many members in Robeson County who were inactive, due to the absence of an Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® Chapter in that area. The nearest chapter was in Fayetteville, NC, more than 45 miles away. She contacted Ruby Lennon who was active with the Zeta Pi Omega Chapter in Fayetteville, but resided in Fairmont. 

Dr. Jeffries instructed Reverend Lennon to contact the inactive members and talk with them about starting a chapter in Robeson County. Lennon contacted Edythe Brenda Hill and Anita Powell. Together, the three of them contacted fourteen others. These seventeen became active as members and in January 1989 formed an interest group called The Pastel Pearls with Ruby Lennon as the president. The Pastel Pearls worked diligently and tirelessly performing all of the tasks leading to the chartering. On March 11, 1990, Dr. Marye Jeffries chartered the Sigma Iota Omega chapter in Fairmont, North Carolina.